VOICES OF INSANITY

My journey through this thing they call life

Archive for ‘June 13th, 2013’

Precision Camera Review


Lord have mercy ! Talk about ease of ordering and having things in stock. After having dealt with Adorama I really was in no mood to go back to them. I wanted a 3ft octa softbox and called around for one and couldn’t find one. I really did not want to try a store in NYC or CA or any of those statist run havens as I refer to them. So I called around in TX and wound up with Precision Camera.  They did not show the product online but then I always am under the impression that updating an online inventory can be a total pain and with that in mind I called. They had not one, but three of them in stock ! Score !! 

So I proceeded to order them over the phone with the RFi speedring which also they had in stock unlike the other big name stores in that personal fiefdom of Bloomnanny that is NYC.  As far as ease of ordering goes – it was just one phone call with the sweetest sounding gal – Katie, who kindly bore thru my horrible jokes and stupid questions. (I should probably send her a bottle of tylenol!) and not only was the ordering easy , the shipping was free too again unlike the price gouging devils over at Adorama. Did I say the shipping was free ? New place to go to for all photo gear from now. 

Their prices were the same as Adorama or B&H or even Amazon. The service is miles ahead. Within 30 minutes of ordering they sent me an email with my invoice, and will send me an email with the tracking information once it is shipped out the next day. They were actually sorry that their shipping guy just left and started apologizing for no fault of theirs !

Whoever heads up the service dept at Adorama should probably call the folks down in Austin and see how the experience is different. I will update this with the packaging and shipping info once I’ve received the boxes. Love it so far. 

~VOI